European Union (EU) Trademark is also known as European Community Trademark (CTM). Currently, the European Union comprises 28 member states. The trademark registered under CTM will be protected equally in all EU member states and therefore most enterprises tends to choose to apply for CTM.

Please complete the Trademark Application Form (Online Version) to start your application.

  Member states of the CTM Trademark

Austria Belgium Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus
Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France
Germany Greece Hungary Ireland Italy
Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Netherlands
Poland Portugal Romania Slovakia Slovenia
Spain Sweden United Kingdom

Note: The member states of CTM do not include such European countries as Belarus, Iceland, Russia, Serbia, Switzerland, Turkey and Ukraine. If you would like to have a wider protection of your trademark in European markets, we suggest you filing applications in those key European countries on a case-by-case basis in addition to CTM registration.

  Advantages of European Community Trademark

  • Lower fees: the force of a CTM once registered in a member state will be extended to all 28 EU member states

  • Under protection by the laws of 28 member states of the European Union

  • No restriction on nationality of the applicant or on the country in which the company is incorporated

  • No restriction on the language in which an application is filed and any member state’s language can be used for application

  • Validity Period: 10 years

  • Duration of Application: 6-8 months

  • Renewal: Renewal application for 10 years may be submitted 6 months before the expiry

Required Information and Documents

  1. Corporation Applicant: Business Registration Certificate / Certificate of Incorporation
  2. Individual Applicant: Identity documents and address proof
  3. Application form
  4. Trademark image

Trademark Classification:

The 10th edition of the Nice Classification, an internationally accepted classification, issued by the World Intellectual Property Organization classifies the goods and services into 45 classes. (34 classes for goods and 11 classes for services) and an alphabetical list of goods and services (Click here).

Should you have any enquires about European Community Trademark Registration, please contact us and we will reply to you soon.

Latest News